(605) 224-7361 contactchamber@pierre.org
Home ยป Chamber Master

Trail of Governors


Organization- Non ProfitAttraction

About Us

The Trail of Governors is series of life-size bronze statues of former governors of South Dakota in Pierre, the state capital. After installing its first statues in 2012, the project completed its goal of placing statues of every former governor ten years later with the 2022 unveiling. Future governors, beginning with incumbent Governor Kristi Noem, will be added after they leave office. Sculptors who have created statues for the project include John Lopez, James Van Nuys, James Michael Maher, Lee Leuning and Sherry Treeby.